RSS

Hur ska vi se på Ubuntus shoppinglins?

23 Sep

Jag skrev igår om Ubuntus shoppinglins som kommer att vara förinstallerad i nästa version av Ubuntu (12.10). Beslutet att göra den till standard och hur man valt att utforma den, kommer nog att diskuteras ett bra tag. För på många sätt är den ett problem i världen av fri och öppen källkod.

I det meddelande som gått ut talas det om inkomster från affärspartners. Vi har alltså ett ekonomiskt argument. Jag kan ha en viss förståelse för det. Det finns egentligen inga gratisluncher. Eller som min ena bror sa: det är svårt att handla mjölk med argumentet att man har gjort ett bra jobb idag.

Benjamin Kerensa skriver om att den här funktionen är det många som har önskat och att vi redan har ett skrivbord som är stark integrerat med internet.

In any case, there have been suggestions for music and movies since Ubuntu 12.04 landed. So the fact that product suggestions are made in a highly precise manner based on your search is not something new coming to 12.10. Suggesting something is much different from blatantly advertising products. After all, we’re talking about a desktop that is integrated into the web and brings the web to your desktop.

Efterfrågan är ett bra argument. Det jag skulle kunna ifrågasätta här är väl i hur stor grad vi ska integrera hela internet på vårt skrivbord. En del aspekter handlar om integritet och säkerhet. Men de flesta är nog mest intresserade av sin bekvämlighet, ända till de stöter på problem.

En annan röst är Bruce Byfield, som skriver på sin blogg på Linux Magazine. Han tycker att Ubuntu med det här börjar likna Windows.

So what exactly were people complaining about? For me, part of the problem, is that the displaying of vendors’ names on the desktop is a habit that I associate with Windows.

These days, my interactions with Windows are mercifully efficiency that business matters. They are brief, but my main impression is that Windows has been taken over by thinly-disguised ads. Icons list are named not just ”anti-virus,” but a specific company’s anti-virus. Each app gives its own notifications and updates, which are as much an excuse to remind users of the product as anything else, with the result that users are exposed to more ads than the watchers of a prime-time sitcom. With some expert knowledge, you can turn off these thinly disguised ads, but many of them have a disconcerting habit of turning themselves back on again. By contrast, until now, Linux has been mercifully free of these obtrusive and constant interruptions.

Frågan är hur pass påträngande reklamen är. Är en ikon påträngande? Eller är det som Bruce Byfield skriver att dessa sök resultat från Amazon tar för stor plats när man inte har bett om det? Kanske är det så att det istället ska finnas en speciell shoppingapp?

Själv handlar jag inte hos Amazon, så vad ska jag med en sådan lins till? Och vill jag handla hos Adlibris, Bokus eller någon annan online-affär, då pekar jag min webbläsare dit. Fullt medveten om vad jag gör. Jag får inte förslag på saker när jag söker på min egen dator.

When you search your music or movie collection, you don’t want to see what else is generally available. Even worse,efficiency that business matters. They are when you are searching for your photo-manager, you don’t want similar sounding-items from Amazon. Admittedly, Amazon’s suggestions are separated from the possible applications in the results, but they aren’t when you are still searching and auto completes are being suggested. Anyway, thinking strictly in terms of function, why should they be there at all?

Similarly, the Ubuntu dash is limited in the number of apps that it can display at one time. So why help to fill up that space with an item that not everyone will want? Free software developers pride themselves on writing efficient applications, but Ubuntu’s new features seem to have far more to do with revenue. For many people, they make the Unity desktop less efficient by adding unnecessary distractions.

Men visst, den går att ta bort, även om det finns en hake.

True, you can remove the results from Amazon and Ubuntu One by removing unity-lens-shopping package. But when Unity is designed for beginners I have to suspect that the unvoiced hope of Ubuntu decision-makers is that many users will be slow to realize that they can do so — and a choice that users may not realize that they have is, practically-speaking, no choice at all.

Canonical och Ubuntu har slagit in på den här vägen och vi får se vart den leder. Kanske kan jag leva med det, bara jag kan avinstallera sånt jag inte vill ha och lägga till det jag vill ha istället. Det finns flera praktiska linser och fler lär det väl bli. Men det vore bra om jag fick välja själv. För mitt val av Linux och Ubuntu handlar mycket om val och att välja bort.

 
Lämna en kommentar

Publicerat av på 23 september 2012 i Dator

 

Etiketter: , , , , , , ,

Kommentera

 
